Meraki

So what if they call me grandma because I knit constantly? So what if they think I’m ridiculous sitting on the bus, needles clicking away? I’ve made sweaters for the homeless, caps for the preemies, scarves for the kids in the afterschool program.

They all have the same little blue streak in them. It’s my special mark. It’s my little way of leaving a little bit of me in the world. It’s my reminder to everyone who gets one of my pieces that I was thinking about them as I made it.

It’s a reminder that they are not alone.

One thought on “Meraki

Leave a Reply

